Favorite Uses for Coconut Oil

Image

Today, I thought I’d break from the more serious posts on soul restoration and share something holistically and physically beneficial.

…Coconut Oil!

Everybody wants it. Everybody loves it. Everybody wants more of it. Not everybody knows how to use it.

Once you come into possession of this highly sought-after purchase, what the heck do you do with it?

You may be wondering what in the world this has to do with spiritual restoration, but hey, God himself told us to treat our bodies as a temple (ref. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20). Coconut oil not only can help you to look your best, but it can also help you to physically feel your best and when we feel our best, we can glorify God all the more.

Now, that’s not to say we can’t glorify God when we are feeling a little less than fabulous. We most certainly can and should attempt to praise and glorify God no matter what our mood (ref. Phil. 4:12). But let’s face it, sometimes our flesh needs a little… kick in the rear…encouragement.

If we look around, we can find all kinds of tools that God has provided in nature to help to heal and take care of ourselves (ref. Gen. 1:29).

When I bought my first tub of coconut oil, I had no idea what to do with it. I think it may have even sat on the shelf for a good week or so before I braved my first CO craft. So, I thought it would be a good idea to share the “palm tree wealth” with my fellow, what do you call them? Crunchies? I don’t know, lol. Anyway… 

Ladies and Godlymen…I give you…Coconut Oil!

  1. In Coffee: Just a tablespoon per cup. I know what you’re thinking…yuck, right? Because it’s the same thing I thought when I first tried it! You may be wondering what in the world coffee has to do with coconut oil and why in the world, if you’re a coffee lover like I am, would you taint that precious morning cup of gold with something so…foreign? Simple! Coconut oil is a natural energy booster. I didn’t believe it at first either until I tried it. It took a second to get past the oilyness of it (b/c it is oil and coffee is essentially flavored water, it will rise to the top…hello Captain Obvious, right?), but once I got used to it, I loved it! I’ve read where you can use a blender to better incorporate the coconut oil into the coffee, but realistically, who has time for that? I’m lucky if I make it out the door with both my gloves some mornings. The last thing I want to do is mess with my blender, unless it’s for a smoothie, which is a whole ‘nother topic! The other good thing about coconut oil is that it boosts metabolism (provided you are helping it along by making healthy-er choices). I find coffee to be a great way to get my coconut oil in and truly notice a difference when I omit it from my morning brew. Since I’ve been taking it, I don’t feel groggy in the morning, I have extra energy, and I just feel better physically.  You could just take it straight off the spoon…but if you’re like me, it will make you gag. Plus, if it’s in my coffee, I’m that much more motivated to take it…kind of like cheese at the end of a maze. I’ve also noticed over the past year of taking coconut oil, that my hair has grown in so healthy and shiny which leads us to…
  2. Hair Treatment: Just take a palmful and warm it up in your hands and work through your hair, saturating the ends. Then gather it on top of your head and  wrap your head in plastic wrap (or a plastic baggy from the grocery store. This works beautifully b/c you can tie the handles into a knot!…just be sure the neighbors can’t see you.) Be careful to use just enough b/c the oil will run the length of the strand. You don’t want to overdo it or you’ll be dabbing at drips with a paper towel the whole 30 minutes instead of relaxing with a good [book, coffee, friend, God, etc.]. For as many economical uses as you can get out of this lovely material, you won’t want to waste a drop! Since coconut oil is composed of such tiny molecules it absorbs quickly and can feel “dry” even with a large amount. This is normal. Don’t let it fool you into thinking you need more. This is one case where less is more! If you have a luxury of time, you can leave it on for an hour or overnight for maximum benefits. Then wash your hair as you normally would and swish your shiny mane around like a shampoo commercial! I do this (when I remember) about once a week, alternating with an egg yolk mixed with olive oil.
  3. Baking and Cooking: Another great way to get your daily dose of CO is to incorporate it into your dishes. I use it for almost everything..even as a substitution for butter while making scrambled eggs. I used to use olive oil for sautéing onions, garlic, etc. and even baking chicken. But then I read article after article of how olive oil does not have a high temperature tolerance and actually turns rancid in most cooking (again, yuck). Olive oil is mostly meant for salad dressings, bread dipping, and most recipes where heat is not involved, unless it will be incorporated into a certain type of cake. But if the recipe calls for whatever you are cooking to be cooked in the olive oil, it’s best to steer clear. I use coconut oil for almost everything now: sautéing, baking chicken, greasing pans, even as a substitute for butter or vegetable oil in baking recipes. One thing to note: because true and pure unrefined organic coconut oil has an actual smell of a coconut, your dishes will have a slight taste and fragrance of coconut, but nothing like the strong taste of store-bought coconut flakes. It will be subtle and once you get used to the change, you won’t notice it. Coconut oil is one of the healthiest of fats and good brain food!
  4. Toothpaste!: Because of the anti-bacterial qualities of coconut oil, it actually draws out impurities and is so healthy for teeth and gums. I make my toothpaste with coconut oil, baking soda, bentonite clay, peppermint essential oil, lemon essential oil..and I think that’s it. There are many recipes on-line you can try and experiment with until you find one that works well for you. It may take a few tries to get it just right.
  5. Eye Cream: I read somewhere that coconut oil can actually reverse lines and wrinkles…I don’t know how true this is, but I will say this is the best method for eye cream I have ever used. Plus, so economical…all you need is a tiny bit! I keep a little jar from a previously store-bought eye cream and fill it with a coconut oil mixed with Vitamin E oil and use it every morning and night.
  6. Moisturizer: When I first heard that coconut oil can clear up acne, I was skeptical. I mean, think about it, slathering a greasy oil all over your already sensitive face?…Crazy, right? But, because coconut oil is anti-microbial and anti-bacterial, it can actually heal your skin and heal scars. I’ve used mine for a few months now mixed with certain essential oils (took a while to get this right) and while I wait to see the healing of the scars, it has not caused any new breakouts and actually feels very soothing. It works even better when I am drinking enough water (which for me is difficult because I almost never “feel” thirsty). Again, all you need is a little bit morning and night on a freshly washed face.

And that’s all folks! Now, there are many other uses for coconut oil: lotion and lip balm, as a facial soap substitute, etc., but the above list is what I have found that works for me. I have saved considerably on both grocery store products and beauty products because of the versatility of this beautiful oil.

You can find coconut oil at the grocery store and it will say organic, but it is very hard to find a truly unrefined, unprocessed coconut oil in the store. The best source is to purchase at a local farm. Amish country is not far from where we live. I am able to purchase mine from a friend at $12-$15 for a good amount that lasts me about a month.

Happy experimenting and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

